The inaugural ceremony of 12th intercollegiate athletic meet of Srinivas and Vijayalakshmi group of colleges was held at Mangala Stadium, Mangalore on 1st February, 2014. The Chief Guest was Shri. Abhaya Chandra Jain,(Hon. Minister of Fisheries, Youth Sciences & Sports, Government of Karnataka.), Shri. Vijay Bharadwaj former Indian Cricketer was the Torch bearer of the day. The inaugural ceremony was presided over by Sri. CA. A Raghavendra Rao, President, (A. Shama Rao Foundation). The guests of Honor were Sri. A. Srinivas Rao, Vice President, A. Shama Rao Foundation & Smt. Vijayalakshmi Rao, Director, Srinivas Group of Colleges, Mangalore. The Dias was also shared by Deans and Principals of the entire sister Institution.

The inaugural ceremony started with salutation by representative teams all the colleges of Srinivas and Vijayalakshmi Group of institutions’ to the dignitaries through March past. Chief Guest Shri Abhaya Chandra Jain hoisted the flag. Later he declared the athletic meet open.

This was followed by the star achievers of all the institutions carrying the Flame Torch across the arena and handing it over to Shri Vijay Bharadwaj. Oath was entrusted to all the participants.

Along with this the Guests also unveiled the trophies for the Inter Dental Cricket tournament Strokes-14 which will be conducted on 3rd, 4th, 5th and 8th of February 2014. This tournament is one of its kind organised comprising of all the teams from 8 dental colleges of Dakshina Kannada; Coorg and Sullia and being associated with Indian Dental Association (Dk) branch

The convener for sports was Prof. (Dr.) Manoj Varma, Dean, Srinivas Institute Dental Sciences, Mukka who welcomed the gathering.

The chief guests appreciated the level of athletic meet being organised and emphasized the importance of taking up sports as a profession.

President Shri CA A Raghavendra Rao accentuated that it was our honor to have received Shri Abhaya Chandra Jain and Shri Vijay Bharadwaj for the ceremony despite of their busy schedule. He also wished the participants luck in all their endeavors and stressed on preserving sportsmanship spirit.

The vote of thanks was rendered by Mr Anil Kumar, Principal, Vijayalakshmi Institute of Hospitality Sciences.

The athletic events continued after the inaugural ceremony.