SRINIVAS GROUP OF COLLEGESAnnual Day and Graduation Day Programme – 2017


Annual Day Programme – 2017

A Shama Rao Foundation, Mangalore, was established in 1988 with avowed aim of imparting education which could mould the character of the students and make them responsible citizens of the country. It was the firm belief of the founder Adka Shama Rao that education is the tool to transform society. Today the foundation sponsors a plethora of educational institutions imparting education in Technology, Medical Sciences, Dental Sciences, Hotel Management, Hospitality Sciences, Pharmacy, Business Management, Nursing, and Education. The foundation is ably led by           Sri CA. A. Raghavendra Rao and Sri. A Srinivas Rao.

A two day programme including Founder’s Day, Graduation Day & College Day has been organized at Srinivas Campus, Merlapadav, on 15th & 16th of February, 2017. Mr. Kishore Alva, Executive Director & Joint President, Project Development, CSR & Corporate Affairs, Adani UPCL, Padubidri, Udupi & Vice President – Bangalore Chamber of Industries & Commerce was the inaugurator of the function and Mr. Udaya Kumar B V, Assistant General Manager, State Bank of India, Port Road, Mangaluru was the chief guest.  

Speaking on the occasion, Mr. Kishore Alva said that life is full of uncertainty, and learning is a continuous process. He also said that due to globalization there are new opportunities for graduates. He called upon graduates to choose a career as a passion and work for the society. He appealed the students to develop three qualities in their life i.e attitude, skills and knowledge.  Chief guest, Mr. Udaya Kumar B V, during his address congratulated all the graduates, staff and students for their achievement. He said that India is a growing economy, and there is lot of scope in service sector.  He said there are plenty of opportunities for graduates today and it is a challenge to select the right field in their career. He called upon graduates to align their personal objectives to contribute to the society.

Sri CA.A Raghavendra Rao, Chancellor of Srinivas University and President of A Shama Rao Foundation, in his presidential address said learning is continuous process and asked the graduates to keep the mind open for new knowledge. He said that a individual can be successful by being humble and learning new things in life. 
 About 10000 students of Srinivas group of colleges participated in the function. More than 200 students who have excelled in academics and extracurricular activities were awarded during the function. Also 29 students who studied in Srinivas Group of Colleges and secured ranks in University Exams were felicitated with A Shama Rao Foundation Gold medals. 
The annual awards instituted by the governing council of A Shama Rao foundation to recognize and honor the people who contribute substantially to the development of identified area of our society were given during the function. A Shama Rao memorial award for the outstanding contribution of individual and community development in the field of education, agriculture, employment generation and literary services was given to Sri. S. Pradeep Kumar Kalkura, Kalkura Prathistana, President, Kannada Sahitya Parishat, Dakshina Kannada District Unit, Mangalore.

A Shama Rao memorial outstanding teacher award was given to Sri Jayarama Poonja, Principal, Sri Durgaparameshwari Temple Pre-University college, Kateel, Dakshina Kannada district for his dedicated services as teacher, motivating students to concentrate on studies and guiding them to participate in various co-curricular activities at National and international level.

A Shama Rao memorial award for the outstanding achievement in social contribution was received by Sr. Sylvia Fernandes, Superintendent of Infant Mary convent and St. Joseph Prashanth Nivas, Jeppinamogaru, Mangalore, for her involvement in helping the poorer sections of the society and dedicating her life to serve the mankind. 

Dr. A. Srinivas Rao, Pro chancellor, Srinivas University, Vice President, A Shama Rao Foundation welcomed the gathering, Smt. A.Mitra S.Rao, Board of Governor, Srinivas University, Seceratary, A Shama Rao Foundation administered the oath to the newly graduated students. Dr. Ajay, PRO, Srinivas Group of Colleges delivered the vote of thanks.